If I am in sickness, my sickness may serve Him.

by meganjazelle

Despite my fractured ankle, I went to Clarkston today. This whole past week I have been dreading today, because I wasn’t sure if I was going to be able to come. One of my team members, Esther, prayed for my ankle to heal Monday and each day I saw a steady improvement. A day ago though I committed to coming and while it was a decision I was wrestling with I knew I desired to go and I also knew God wasn’t telling me “no.”

Honestly going there I knew I would be on crutches… I knew I would be slower than everyone else and I would hold them up while walking. I was aware that Clarkston itself had some rough terrain. In fact, I couldn’t make the drive there (thanks, lue!) and the more and more I thought about it… I figured I wasn’t really good for anything. Still my desire, my love for them, trumped my fears and God calmed my heart..

In the end, it was another beautiful day in Clarkston. We might not have shared the gospel like we had hoped, but God still used us… God still even used me. We continued to create friendships with the girls and for the first time we had practical use in helping not only the girls with their English and homework, but also the parents with their banking issues. In the end, we finished with a dinner and were blessed with gracious hospitality.

I never had a heart for teenage girls and it’s amazing to see how God has lead me here and took me out of my comfort zone. It’s such a fulfilling ministry for me and I am absolutely loving it. Still, I do know there will be hard days to come in the ministry.

“I know I’m filled to be emptied again, this seed I’ve received I will sow.” -Hillsong United “Desert Song”

 

