Daily Life

by meganjazelle

Life in the Middle East is different and it is going to take some getting used to. And yet, this location is so much different than the rest of the Middle East! It’s much more liberal here and the traditions are not as adhesive.

Women:

Women are treated differently here. There are set gender roles and the women cook, clean, have Children and care for their young ones. Occasionally the women work and support their family.

Men:

Don’t look at them. Don’t touch them. Don’t speak to them, unless spoken to. Keep your eyes set down to the ground when walking and don’t stop.

This is taking some getting used to. Thankfully, I am a teacher and teachers (especially American teachers) are respected.

In my class these cultural boundaries slightly blur and I am not only able to speak and make very short eye contact, but the women in my class are able to speak and participate as well. As of right now, my class consists of eleven men and six women.

I’m really excited to teach, but a little nervous about whether or not I’ll be able to answer all the questions correctly (grammar!) or if I’ll speak slow enough when i do get nervous. Just little things, I guess.

Thankfully though, I live with two lovely interns that are assisting me and there is an additional intern at the center that teaches. Then I also have a few adults working that have taught plenty and can direct me. Therefore, it’s going to be okay! πŸ™‚

I probably ought to give my fellow intern her computer back. So much love from here to you and I’ll try to update soon. Feel free to ask questions, since I don’t know what to write specifially about.

