Thursday

by meganjazelle

This Thursday was graduation for my little ones. After two weeks of camp and being a “Ma-Mu-Sa” (teacher) for the 6-7 year olds, I am thoroughly exhausted. I enjoyed having the chance to meet and get to know my girls and boys and would do it again in a heart beat, but I will admit this time off to recoup is nice.

While I will miss my children, I do believe I enjoy teaching adults more. There’s something about their motivation and getting to know their past experiences that excites me and makes me want to teach them more. I teach two nights a week, but Thursdays are my days of interaction with my students on a casual and just informal basis. I love it!

This Thursday I prepared a game (with the help of a fellow intern). The game was “Catch Phrase.” I took a tissue box, stuck sheets of paper with words on it, and we passed it around… Playing two rounds (each about sixteen students). While it was fun, I didn’t realize how competitive these people are! It became pretty intense!

Anyways… Thursdays are my absolute most favorite days. Not only do we have our English café, but afterwards interns from many different organizations and work places come and together we experience sweet fellowship. It’s such a refreshing and renewing time for me. This Thursday, instead of our usual games, we gathered around a table and shared testimonies and ate some good food. Such a blessed time.

In closing, I’m realizing how important relationships are here. Not only with the locals in this city and my students at the Center, but others in the Body of Him. I hope this is a reminder not caught to get up in everyday over there across the Pacific. Make sure you take time for people and enjoy the relationships He places in your life.

 

