Stillness

by meganjazelle

Every afternoon I get off work and eventually make my way back to my apartment. I walk up the  steps, put my key into the hole, and open the door expecting the an empty apartment.

I step in, close the door, and stillness surrounds me. Silence engulfs me.

This is the first time in my life that I get to experience stillness. I’ve always lived with my family or been in a dorm where others surround me. Here I’m alone.

Alone in stillness.

While I have settled into a little routine and do my best to fill the time, about 7 or 8 pm I realize there is nothing more to do except to accept the stillness around me.

“Be still and know I am God.”

Here in my little apartment,  I have no telly or internet…. With that being said, this verse has  really taken on a different perspective for me lately. Usually I think of  this verse as a call to becoming still… Trying to find time out of my day to make for God.

Here though, I have the time provided right for me. I literally sit in stillness and quietness. I am perfectly and completely alone for the first time in my life…. And it is here that I am again recognizing the need to KNOW Him and using this time to know God more.

I’ve been reading through the Old Testament and have been reading about God with a new passion. I’m having God speak to me in new ways and I am catching just minuscule glimpses of who He is… And, oh! I only want to know Him more!

I challenge you to take some time and be still. Not only take the time to be still, but KNOW that He is God.

Sit and actually be still. Recognize and remain seated in His sovereignty… And let that put your mind in awe.

