Power and Magnificence

by meganjazelle

Image

As William Bartram ascended the peak of Wayah Bald he wrote this little snippet in his journal:

“…I began again to ascend the [Nantahala] mountains, which at length I accomplished, and rested on the most elevated peak; from whence I beheld with rapture and astonishment a sublimely awful scene of power and magnificence, a world of mountains piled upon mountains”

As I have explored North East Georgia and headed up into North Carolina this weekend, I’ve witnessed the power of such magnificence. I’ve seen mountains piled upon mountains and have sat on the edge of such awe inspiring views. Sublimely awful scene of power and magnificence. Literally, they can leave you with no words to speak… The glory of God crying out from the trees, rocks, rivers, and the highest of heights.

As I was sitting in the fire tower on the peak of Wayah, the thought crossed my mind:

“If this humbling expereince… This awe inspiring sight leaves me breathless and without words… How much more will heaven and the glory of God leave me?”

I believe Isaiah’s response was most appropriate “Woe to me!” I cried. “I am ruined! For I am a man of unclean lips, and I live among a people of unclean lips, and my eyes have seen the King, the Lord Almighty.”

For me, I look upon the marvelous works of His hands… The colors, textures, the variety… and I just am reminded of how small and insignificant I truly am.

Yet, I see the heights… Look out as far as I can see…. And it is there, that I am also reminded of how significant I am.

Not because of my own doing… Never!

But Christ died for me, the LORD has cleaned my lips… And somehow… Somehow He has given me a purpose and I can look out into the country He has made knowing that I am worth something. In the midst of everything, He finds me worth it.

The glory of God surrounds us. In the night sky, sunrise, in variety of plant life… But even farther! The thought that we have been created in the image of God and have been made a little below that angels and are crowned with glory and honor (Psalm 8:5).

Wow… 

Life is truly wonderful.

