Thoughts for Today

by meganjazelle

One of my greatest struggles in life has been and still is against apathy. I personally feel like it’s my greatest enemy in life, mostly because I don’t even recognize it until it’s too late. When it is time to finally face the hard fact: apathy has entered my heart… It’s easy to just sink further into it. Like quicksand… Until I’m just so, so stuck.

It is in this muck and mire that I feel powerless. It’s easy to give up… It’s easy to not do anything about it… 

But thankfully, I’m not alone.

“Do not gloat over me, my enemy! Though I have fallen, I will rise. Though I sit in darkness, the LORD will be my light.” -Micah 7:8

It is in my darkness, that God reminds me of what was and where all I have been. My feet have wandered some amazing places. There are many things that just scream “there’s a Creator!!!” Snowflakes, the rain, the night sky, peacock feathers, the smell of honeysuckles, etc… But the number one thing that just really forces me to stand in awe has to be culture. I love it…. And it literally is woven everywhere in my life. It is in these dark moments I am reminded of those little things… 

“I remember the days of long ago; I meditate on all your works and consider what your hands have done.” -Psalm 143:5

Then I remember some bigger things… 

The worship I experienced in the underground church in China. 

Participating in the first communion within a Middle Eastern home church and seeing the joy on their faces. 

My needs and my families health being provided for. 

Lots of things, really… But those are my favorite to reflect on. 

“Lord, You light my lamp; my God illuminates my darkness.” -Psalm 18:28

I don’t know what you’re going through… I don’t know who even will be reading this. But, I want to encourage you to allow God to open your eyes to see what He’s done and doing now.Trust me, I know sometimes it is so hard to see where He is in the present, but never forget where He has lead and taken you before. Let Him illuminate the darkness you feel and you will see Him. 

Regardless if your problem is apathy, or something else… He is the solution to your problem. 

 

