Open Your Eyes

by meganjazelle

The past several hours, I have been listening to the rain fall. First in short quiet patters and now in a rhythmic lull. It’s a sweet, sweet reminder of “home,” but also a gentle reminder of His provision. A rain drop is such a little and seemingly insignificant thing. But the beauty of it all and cycle of it’s life just leaves me speechless.

If you have been around me, at times I probably seem like a child:

I get excited over the little animals along the road…

I wonder at all the colors, textures, shapes, and variety of plants/trees… 

I literally can’t stop being amazed by His handiwork… 

I get excited, I shout, I point, I dance… 

All because I am in awe.

If you have trouble seeing Him, sometimes it helps using your senses: sight, taste, hearing, smells, and touch. Take time for the little things.

Listen to the rain fall.

Open your mouth and catch the little water droplets on your tongue.

Watch it come down in sheets or gaze at the reflections in the puddles around your feet.

Smell it heavy in the air.

Hold your hands out and feel it on your skin…

Each day there are so many little things that I miss, just because my eyes are not open to look:

The warmth of the sunlight filtering through the trees…

The shadows of the clouds painting the hills…

The texture of the leaves…

The chirps of the sparrows…

The shades of green within the grass…

The smell of honeysuckle in the air…

Honestly, I need these little things. On the inside, I can be a very negative person and in the past I have struggled with depression. I need to see His handiwork throughout my day. I need to open my eyes and see Him.  It reminds me there is something so much greater than myself and I feel so loved when I see all that has been created that brings me enjoyment… That gives me joy, but also hope.

 

Look for the little things. The things that bring you joy, remind you of home, and fill your heart with awe for the Creator…

Life is too short to ignore the gifts He has given us. He is a God of creation. Look at the variety and let it take your breath away.

Experience it.

See it.

Live aware of it and within it.

Open your eyes and see Him.

