Pressed Down, Shaken, & Overflowing

by meganjazelle

“Give, and it will be given to you;

a good measure—pressed down, shaken together, and running over—will be poured into your lap.

 For with the measure you use, it will be measured back to you.”

-Luke 6:38

Pressed down, shaken, and overflowing. 

When cooking, have you ever played around with flour? I’m a messy child -sorry, Mom- so I definitely have. You can shake out the measuring cup to remove air bubbles, mash it into the cup, additionally fill it -repeat the process- until the flour is to the brim, and still, even when pressed, somehow it ends up overflowing and gets all over my hands, clothing, counter, and even on the floor.

Several weeks back, a guest speaker came to our church to speak and had a message prepared on tithing. Daniel Lucas constantly used a “catch phrase” that has successfully stuck with me: 

Pressed down, shaken up, and overflowing in your lap. 

The gist was this: When you give in tithes and do so with a cheerful heart, God gives back (note: not necessarily financially). Not just a little bit, not only a lot, but so much more than you can expect. He knows your every need, finds joy in delighting His children, and will provide for you to the point where it’s literally overflowing. 

Think of that flour again…

All over you, on the counter, and floor -in a pleasant and positive way. Haha

Why am I writing this and what does this have to do with anything? Well, let me tell you. 

This year, has been a year of just immeasurably more. 

It’s been a year that is pressed down, shaken up, and now is overflowing in my lap. 

I am literally overwhelmed. All over me and my life!

Especially in the past couple of weeks, I have just been in awe of His provision! 

God has been providing finically for me with random financial gifts from people, I have my housing completely provided for, I have an amazing church who has absolutely made me feel loved and like family, and now the first day I put my car up for sale I have two willing buyers. Is God not good? Those are just a few of the things that have happened recently. 

I know hard times are to come, but when moments like these happen we must choose to recognize them. 

Pressed down, shaken, and overflowing…

I was scared to trust. Afraid to act in faith. So terrified of my finances and having to raise support… And I could go on and on with my all fears. Seriously. I have TONS. 

But when we have faith… Choosing belief -even in the midst unbelief…  And relinquish to Him all we have time: time, finances, hopes, dreams, and aspirations… 

Pressed down, shaken, and overflowing is the result. 

 

 

