Charis

by meganjazelle

I recently bought a book for my Kindle called Charis: God’s Scandalous Grace for Us by Preston Sprinkle. While I am still working through it, this book has been revealing Biblical grace in new ways for me. I could go on and on about what I’ve learned, but I just want to share one little, tiny snippet.

You see, the beginning of Exodus is pretty interesting. Tons of action. Then around chapter 25, it slows with instructions.  There starts to be plans and details drawn up for a tent -or temporary tabernacle. If I am honest, I get lost there in the details…

Chapters 32-34, I return with interest due to the fact that the Israelites are “poppin'” a golden calf out of the fires down the mountain, while Moses is receiving instructions and the Word of the Lord.

For some reason though, it never quite hit me the enormity of the whole situation. God is choosing to come down and dwell with His people in a man-made little tent… All while He is well aware -and knew before hand- that as He is telling everything to Moses, the Israelites are making their own god to worship.

God is committing to His people. Choosing to dwell on Earth. Desiring to be with them.

All while His people chose another love.

They are committing spiritual adultery.

And yet, He stays.

He chooses to still dwell with them.

He chooses to have grace and forgiveness.

Then we see in the beginning of verse six in Exodus 34, after everything has been done:

“Yahweh -Yahweh is a compassionate and gracious god, slow to anger and rick in faithful love and truth, maintaining faithful love to a thousand generations, forgiving wrongdoings, rebellion, and sin…”

Whoa. Crazy right?

In the book, Preston uses the example of a groom on his wedding night. If the bride where to go to the neighbor next door and commit adultery the same night he -the groom- committed to her, how would that groom respond?

I mean, how would YOU respond?!

Yet. When God was in the position…

God chooses grace.

He chooses to dwell among them. The adulteress people.

The ending quote of the chapter is this:

Grace, on the other hand, means that God is pursuing you.

That God forgives you.

That God sanctifies you.

When you are apathetic toward God, He is never apathetic toward you.

When you don’t desire to pray and talk to God, He never grows tired of talking to you.

When you forget to read your Bible and listen to God, He is always listening to you…

Grace is what compels God to find a stubborn delight in dwelling with calf-worshipping sinners who committed adultery on their wedding night.

Maybe that won’t be some amazing revelation to you, but it hit me tonight: I am the same as the Israelites.

How many times do I choose other things over Jesus.

How often do I turn to “idols” or dwell continually on things that are not of Him.

I am the one who turns to other loves…

Yet, He chooses and desires me. 

He wants me to still choose Him, even after I’ve failed over and over.

He gives me grace, after grace, after grace.

And He offers the same to you.

Hallelujah.

 

 

______________________________________________________________________________

Sprinkle, Preston (2014-07-01). Charis: God’s Scandalous Grace for Us (p. 76). David C. Cook. Kindle Edition.

