Taking the Taxi Home

by meganjazelle

My trusted taxi driver was taking my co-worker and I both to our homes…

I hooked my fingers through the backseat handle bar, leaned my head back, and watched as the city passed me by.

Lights of various neon colors, flashing…

Window down, the cool breeze manipulating my hair…

John Mayer blaring through the stereo and the sounds of the street competing to be heard…

This is where I am.

This is where I live.

I’m not alone here, but I am in good company…

Life is good.

I feel so at peace…

Little moments like these I treasure.

Tonight I gave a final exam and together our center ended its Summer term. I do not like to consider myself a teacher… I know there are much more qualified and intelligent people out there to teach, but these past six weeks have been a source of joy for my heart. I am thankful that this time of teaching ended well and am looking forward to two and a half weeks off… Still I am secretly excited to begin our Fall term. I had a wonderful class who loved laughter and and making English relevant to them -which really helped me to get to know their personalities.

Well, that’s all. Nothing very exciting to share… Just a good day going down in the books. ❤

