HT

by meganjazelle

Some things I have gotten used to: power off and on, stares, unwelcome comments from men, and not going out after dark… This list can go on and on…

One that I am still working on? Mainly men with guns. Big guns. They guard the Mosques during funerals -especially deaths of political figures,- our local government offices, and sometimes you can see them guarding random homes on the street -if one can afford such a luxury. This I don’t mind. It’s normal here and as a military brat, guns are not that uncommon…

But.

Big guns on our Sunday morn? This is still so strange.

Today we experienced armed police guarding our congregational meeting outside. This is something the city wants us to do as an extra measure of security and, honestly, I appreciate it -I mean, we can never be too safe, right? Usually we have two guys hanging outside the doors. Today, It was just at least one police car full of men… Maybe five or six guys and some of them were inside the foyer.  I don’t usually feel nervous being at this location, but trying to listen to the service while hearing their walkies going off was slightly unnerving…

On a positive note, what a privilege it is to be able to meet in a location and to have our own building. How awesome is it too that the city knows and wants to make sure we have security… It’s easy to take these things for granted at home… With that being said, I am so thankful for the freedom to have my f-ith and to be able to meet and fellowship with others…

Just some thoughts…

