Distress

by meganjazelle

Last night I stayed at my friend’s house again to watch her three children. A little past six in the morning I woke up to a very distressed voice:

“Megan!!! Help me!” 

I hopped out of bed and ran to the little girl’s room, literally feeling sick to my stomach. Thankfully, I only found that the door stuck and it just needed a little extra push to open. Still for the rest of that morning, I felt on edge. Her cry had reached my ears.

______________________________________________________________

Tonight as I sleep in my own bed,  I look to the canvas on my walls and see some verses from Psalm 18 I have written down:

“In my distress, I called to the Lord. I cried to God for help. He heard my voice from His temple. My cry for help came into His ears…. He reached from on high, He took me; He drew me out of many waters… the Lord was my stay and support… He brought me forth also into a large place; He was delivering me because He was pleased with me and delighted in me…” 

After todays events, these verses are magnified…

How many times have I cried out for help. How many times I have called to Him in my distress… Each time, He hears. The King of Kings… He hears.

Not only does He hear, but He acts. He reaches down from on high… To touch me. A pure and holy King touches me!

My favorite part though is that He brings me to a large place (sometimes translates to a spacious place). In my mind when I am in a spacious place, I can see all around me. Where I’ve come from, His hand in my life… I see it all so clearly, because I am set out in the open. He delivers, because He delights. 

What a beautiful reminder today of a caring Father.

How deep and vast is His love for us… 

