August

by meganjazelle

HE said, ‘Come!’ So Peter got out of the boat, and walked on the water and came towards HIM. But when he saw the effects of the wind, he was frightened, and he began to sink, and he cried out, ‘L-rd, save me!’ Immediately HE extended His hand and caught him, saying to him, O you of little faith, why did you doubt?

-Matthew 14:22-23

This whole process of coming here and living in the region has been one full of highs and lows. Last month was a low… Mostly because I felt as if everything was out of my control (cue worry and anxiety). On top of that, I thought that I would have to return in August under short notice. Thankfully I was able to stay here in country…

After some additional thought and sound advice, I realized that if I am going to live here two additional years I need to return and make sure that my next two years are fully funded. With that being said, October through December I’ll be Stateside. January I’ll return here to my home. 

Like this story of Peter, I’ve been one to doubt. I’ve had faith and then wavered after the winds have blown.

Just like Peter, I feel in my heart “O you of little faith, why did you doubt?” 

Why do I doubt when I see His hand over and over and over in my life? 

Why do I still lose heart when things aren’t clear? Has He not lead me all this way? 

It’s amazing though how HE reaches down when we are in need to save us -to stabilize us. He is always in control. He is always good to us -His children.

As I look forward to the next few months, every worry or care about returning Stateside have been silenced by Him. I’m left in awe of His provision…

So in response to Him, I’ll do the same thing the disciples and Peter did when He calmed the winds and returned to the boat… I’ll stand in awe and worship my Creator -who loves and delights in me. Even in my doubts and failures…

Remember… He is good. So, so good.

