Home

by meganjazelle

The path is covered in leaves. Wet leaves. Their smell permeates the air. The way is steep, but I can see the ruins. The stones are beautifully layered, yet still so much is missing.

Home.

I watched as the rice stalks bowed and swayed with the wind. A sea of green. Each wave of wind that billowed over the plants, caused a different hue to be displayed. Each intricate movement important to the greater picture.

Home.

The path leads to the pier upon the lake, but I chose to walk beside the creek. It gets quieter the further I move up the lakeside, finally opening it’s mouth. The sounds of it’s babble are calming. So many memories. So many life changes here. So much life found.

Home.

I take the curves as fast as my little red car will allow. Young and slightly reckless. Finally the open stretch… Windows down, I breathe in the smell of Fall. Leaves crunch under my tires. Tobacco smoke leaking from the barns pours into my car… Arms stretched out, I catch the drag of the outside air.

Home.

Carefully I climb down the large stones. Grabbing on the small trees and their roots for support. At the bottom, I allow my open toed shoes to touch the edge… The water is always cold.  Swirls of clouds hang low into the mountains… Orange, yellow, pink, and hint of red streak across the sky. The water reflects His handiwork.

Home.

Long open stretches of highway, sometimes allowing me legally over 75mph. Muted greens and browns paint the landscape.  Cattle low along the sides of the road. The outside air is cool, but still not quite as cold as it should be for winter. This place is new and unfamiliar, but in the seat beside and behind me… Family.

Home.

I can taste the dust as I try to make it down the hill. Each time the wind blows past, it kicks up even more minuscule pieces of dirt. My eyes sting. My feet slip on the gravel, yet I do not fall. I look to my little house. A place so far away and different then anything I’ve known… Still. It’s now home.

Home.

_________________________

I’ve left my heart in many places. Home after home after home… It’s time for me to go back to the M.East. Always bittersweet with goodbyes, but I always try to strive forward, gaze fix ahead.

Here’s to the new year! ❤

**Hopefully an update will be soon to come in the upcoming week!**

