Pecans

by meganjazelle

In the center of the room were twenty brightly colored bags with several neon colored tissue papers shoved inside. We were told it was a game of “White Elephant” with American products-stealing and all! After watching others pick out their bags and seeing their goodies I decided I would be the first to steal.

I chose a  huge bag of pecans and chocolate. But soon after, my bag was stolen…

There were two other bags with pecans, but they too were stolen from me… Finally I relented and opened a new bag. Speciality Coffee Creamer, Junior Mints, and a CD. Appreciated, but not quite exactly what I was hoping for.

Afterwards a sweet lady named Joy came up to me holding a large bag of pecans. I had seen her trade out Twizzlers and Pepperment Patties in order to get the bag.

“Here you go!” She said. Cheerfully handing me her pecans.

__________________________________________

It might sound silly, but that was so sacrificial and selfless of her. Let me honest! I wouldn’t have traded out my peppermints (YORK brand too) and Twizzlers for someone else! Especially for someone I don’t know. How kind is that!?

I wrote her a thank you note and she found me the next morning. She said, “I thought about hoarding them. My husband and I love pecans, but I am so glad I gave them to you! Who knew it would be such a blessing!”

______________________________________

How often do I “hoard” my time and resources from others, instead of giving freely to others? How often do I miss opportunities to bless and love those around me, all because of my selfishness?  Such a simple gift! Pecans. But literally when retelling the story today brought tears to my eyes. I hope I can learn to keep my hands and schedule open, to better serve those around me.

 

Even if it means giving up mints… Or pecans. ❤

