Little Delights

by meganjazelle

How many are your works, Lord! In wisdom you made them all; the earth is full of your creatures. There is the sea, vast and spacious, teeming with creatures beyond number- living things both large and small. All creatures look to you to give them their food at the proper time. When you give it to them, they gather it up; when you open your hand, they are satisfied with good things.

-Psalm 104 : 24-25, 27-28

This past month has been the beginning of Spring here in our region. The mountains have changed from dull brown to vibrant greens. Our local refugee children have been selling bunches of wild flowers from the country side… And rain is consistently in our weekly forecast.

Grass. Flowers. Rain.

Things I no longer take for granted.

____________________________

Yesterday was our traditional New Year’s celebration. We got dressed in our finest traditional dresses and the whole city went out to the hills or many mountains in the area. Our bus drove us out to a nearby valley and we unpacked 10 hours worth of food. I ate breakfast with my local family and then set off in exploration.

I waded through the shallow river (stream for yall American folk) and attempted to frolic through the grass on the other side of our picnic site –there were tons of rocks though that made the frolicking a little difficult.

I remember standing at the top of one of the hills, looking out… Seeing the beauty. Hearing the rushing of water and the chirps of the birds… This is what brings me to my knees in awe. This is what calls my soul to worship.

We live in such rich color and texture. Our senses are constantly filled with smells and sounds… How can I not sing His praise when standing witness to His glory?

____________________________

I love the ending of Psalm 104:28

“… when you open your hand, they are satisfied with good things.”

We are satisfied with such good things.

Recently a friend (shoutout to Quinn) wrote a post about the Father giving her the desires of her heart. So often I tend think of the desires of my heart as the 2 or 3 main things I “want.” But there are so many other “little” things that I desire, such as a beautiful day out in the countryside or a local family to feel apart of. Things that are too, truly the desires of my heart.

____________________________

I wandered back to our campsite and after having my fill of people time (I’m such an introvert), I meandered off again to that little river and found a smooth rock to sit upon. I couldn’t help but think back to my friend’s facebook post… The desires of my heart.

Sunshine. Green grass. Peaceful flowing water. Blue skies. Gray clouds (a few hours later). Herd of cows. Birds. Mountains… Nature.

My beautiful friend celebrating her 23rd birthday. Family. Friends. Community.

It all declared His glory. It gave me such great delight. He was satisfying me with such good things.

____________________________

I enjoyed the holiday and listened to some amazing conversations I wish I could share with you through this blog. My friends welcomed me with the most gracious hospitality and made me feel like a daughter and a sister. It was such a sweet experience and an overall lovely time.

____________________________

Some pictures from this weekend…

IMG_0060

Our picnic site for the day!

IMG_0040IMG_0030

IMG_0049

Such peaceful water!

IMG_0553

I came over to pet the cows, but realized the herd had a farmer watching over them. Turns out it was a woman, instead of the usual man. I went down and spoke to her for little while. She had such a precious smile and was so welcoming to me -inviting me to her home and village.

IMG_0053

So much grass!!! A rare thing in this country and it only lasts a few months out of the year.

 

