Glorious

by meganjazelle

This weekend was my last opportunity to attend our international congregations’ meeting place. Being my last week, I asked if I could join in worship. In the midst of the the emotions of goodbyes and transition, worship seems rather fitting. Casting my eyes onto Him and not my circumstances or… Well, anything else. Just Him.

“Glorious! My eyes have seen the beauty of the Lord!

Glorious! He stands above the rulers of the Earth!

Glorious! Glorious! Lord, You are glorious!”

We’ve sang this song quite a few times recently and honestly I love it because it reminds me of Moses and the glory of the Lord passing before Him (Exodus 33:19-23). He says that He shows kindness and mercy to who He chooses… Yet we are not worthy of Him! One look, one glace… He says to Moses “no one may see Me and live.” But still… He gives mercy and kindness to us?

Gives us new life -an abundant life! Forgives us and removes our scarlet stains… Makes them white as snow… Clothing us in His righteousness…

Then. One of my favorite acts in the New Testament… The veil was torn! The glory of God…. Living among us. Within us…

“Glorious. My eyes have seen the glory of the Lord! Glorious!”

As I sang the lyrics to this song, I heard Him speak tenderly to my heart: “Child, have your eyes seen my glory here?”

Mercies new every morning that I have experienced…

Days where I have tasted and seen that the Lord is good…

Long lonely nights where I have been comforted…

Strength in moments and days of weakness…

He’s provided me with courage and hope on hard, challenging days …

His loving-kindness providing for my every need…

Oh! How He’s been so faithful to me in this place!

And that’s just me. Not the wonderful and marvelous works I have seen Him do here in this place! In those around me!

“Glorious! My eyes have seen the glory of the Lord!”


My heart aches as I consider the fact that I have less than a week in this country… My home. Of course I wish I could stay… I want to come back… But I rejoice. I rejoice that He will lead me and go before me… But will also, at the same time, remain here in this place.

With joy, I can declare: “My eyes have seen the glory of the Lord here!”

What a wonderful testimony I get to carry within me and share.

“Glorious! My Eyes have seen the glory of the Lord! He’s there! He’s there!”

And Stateside too: “He’s here! He’s here.”

So in my grief and the heartache of leaving… He’s been glorious. As I ponder my time here may I be reminded… Over and over at the works of His hands and the fingerprints He leaves in this place…

“Glorious! Lord you are glorious!”

